Getty Images

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has revealed its list of the 15 modern-era finalists who will be considered for induction next summer for the Class of 2024. The committed whittled its list down from the 25 semifinalists that were selected back in November. 

Among this year's finalists are two players eligible for induction for the first time: former Chargers tight end Antonio Gates and decorated pass rusher Julius Peppers, who played the majority of his career with the Carolina Panthers

The last step between these finalists and induction will take place on Super Bowl weekend, when the selection committee casts its final votes. The committee can choose to elect up to five modern-era finalists for induction. Whoever is selected during Super Bowl weekend will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio in August. 

Here's a look at each modern-era finalist (year of eligibility in parenthesis):

2024 Pro Football Hall of Fame modern-era finalists 

  • Eric Allen, CB (18th year) -- A six-time Pro Bowler, Allen had 54 career interceptions that included four pick-sixes in 1993. 
  • Jared Allen, DE (4th year) -- Allen led the league in sacks twice and had 136 yards during his career. 
  • Willie Anderson, OT (11th year) -- Anderson earn three straight All-Pro nods and was recently inducted into the Bengals Ring of Honor. 
  • Jahri Evans, G (2nd year) -- Evans earned six straight Pro Bowl nods as a key member of prolific Saints offenses. 
  • Dwight Freeney, LB (2nd year) -- Freeney's devastating spin move led to 125.5 career sacks and a Super Bowl ring with the 2006 Colts. 
  • Antonio Gates, TE (1st year) -- One of the most productive tight ends in NFL history, Gates caught 116 touchdowns during his years with the Chargers.  
  • Rodney Harrison, S (11th year) -- The hard-hitting safety helped the Chargers reach their first Super Bowl before later helping the Patriots win back-to-back titles. 
  • Devin Hester, PR/KR/WR (3rd year) -- Regarded as the greatest returner in league history, Hester's glittering career included a kickoff return for a score to open Super Bowl XLI. 
  • Torry Holt, WR (10th year) -- Holt led the NFL in receiving twice and was an integral member of the Rams' "Greatest Show on Turf" offense. 
  • Andre Johnson, WR (3rd year) -- The greatest offensive player in Texans history, Johnson was named to seven Pro Bowls and led the NFL in receiving on two occasions. 
  • Julius Peppers, DE (1st year) -- Peppers has the distinction of being named to two Hall of Fame All-Decade teams after terrorizing opposing quarterbacks from 2002-18. 
  • Fred Taylor, RB (9th year) -- Often overlooked, Taylor racked up seven 1,000-yard seasons and averaged nearly 108 rushing yards per game in 2000. 
  • Reggie Wayne, WR (5th year) -- Wayne enjoyed a prolific run with Peyton Manning in Indianapolis and continued to play at a Pro Bowl level late in his career with Andrew Luck throwing him the ball. 
  • Patrick Willis, LB (5th year) -- Willis packed a lot into an eight-year career. He was a seven-time Pro Bowler, five-time All-Pro and is a member of the Hall of Fame All-2000s Team. 
  • Darren Woodson, S (16th year) -- The three-time Super Bowl champion is the Cowboys' all-time career leader in tackles. 

10 semifinalists who missed the cut

  • Anquan Boldin, WR (Times as semifinalist: 3) -- Boldin's stellar career included Offensive Rookie of the Year honors and a Super Bowl ring with the 2012 Ravens.
  • Tiki Barber, RB (Times as semifinalist: 1) -- The former Giants standout is one of three players in NFL history to have 10,000 rushing and 5,000 career receiving yards.
  • London Fletcher, LB (Times as semifinalist: 2) -- A former Division III star, Fletcher had over 2,000 career tackles and was a key member of the 1999 Rams' championship defense.
  • Eddie George, RB (Times as semifinalist: 2) -- A former Heisman Trophy winner, George's tough running helped lead the Titans to a surprise Super Bowl run in 1999.
  • James Harrison, LB (Times as semifinalist: 2) -- Harrison didn't become a starter until age 29, but he still finished his career with two Super Bowl wins, a Defensive Player of the Year award. He also authored one of the greatest plays in Super Bowl history.
  • Robert Mathis, DE/LB (Times as semifinalist: 3) -- A versatile defender, Mathis led the NFL in sacks in 2013 and finished his career with 123 sacks as a member of the Colts.
  • Steve Smith Sr., WR (Times as semifinalist: 3) -- Also an accomplished returner, Smith's bonafides as a receiver includes leading the NFL in receptions, receiving yards and touchdown catches in 2005.
  • Ricky Watters, RB (Times as semifinalist: 4) -- One of the most versatile backs in NFL history, Watters scored three total touchdowns in the 49ers' most recent Super Bowl win.
  • Vince Wilfork, DT (Times as semifinalist: 3) -- The incredible run-stuffer was named to five Pro Bowls and was a key member of to Super Bowl winners in New England.
  • Hines Ward (Times as semifinalist: 8) -- Arguably the best blocking receiver ever, Ward is also one of just two players in NFL history with 12,000 career receiving yards, 1,000 catches and is also a Super Bowl MVP winner.