The Chargers revealed their 53-man roster Friday night after making their final cuts. As expected, just two QBs were kept, K Nate Kaeding will retain his job after missing most of last season with a torn ACL and WR Vincent Brown (broken ankle) will be given a shot to compete this season.

QB (2) -- Philip Rivers (9th season, round one in 2004, North Carolina State) and Charlie Whitehurst (7th season, round three in 2006, Clemson).

RB (4) -- Ryan Mathews (3rd season, round one in 2010, Fresno State), Curtis Brinkley (3rd season, undrafted in 2009, Syracuse), Ronnie Brown (8th season, round one in 2005, Auburn) and Jackie Battle (6th season, undrafted in 2007, Houston).

FB (1) -- Le'Ron McClain (6th season, round four in 2007, Alabama).

WR (6) -- Malcom Floyd (7th season, undrafted in 2004, Wyoming), Robert Meachem (6th season, round one in 2007, Tennessee), Eddie Royal (5th season, round two in 2008, Virginia Tech), WR-KR Micheal Spurlock (5th season, undrafted in 2006, Mississippi), WR Vincent Brown (2nd season, round three in 2011, SDSU) and WR-KR Richard Goodman (3rd season, undrafted, Florida State). Note: Brown (broken ankle) will likely be placed on the injured reserve list on Tuesday. I new rule adopted on Thursday will allow Brown to come off the IR list later in the season.

TE (4) -- Antonio Gates (10th season, undrafted in 2003, Kent State), Randy McMichael (11th season, round four in 2002, Georgia), Dante Rosario (6th season, round five in 2007, Oregon) and Ladarius Green (round four, 110th overall, Louisiana-Lafayette).

OL (8) --  LTs Jared Gaither (6th season, round five in 2007, Maryland) and Michael Harris (rookie, undrafted, UCLA), LGs Tyronne Green (4th season, round four in 2009, Auburn) and Rex Hadnot (9th season, round six in 2004, Houston), Cs Nick Hardwick (9th season, round three in 2004, Purdue) and David Molk (round seven, 226th overall), RG Louis Vasquez (4th season, round three in 2009, Texas Tech) and RT Jeromey Clary (sixth season, round six in 2006, Kansas State): Note: G/T Brandyn Dombrowski (4th season, undrafted in 2008, SDSU) and G Johnnie Troutman (round five, 149th overall, Penn State) are on the reserved Reserve-Non Football Injury-Illness lists, but may play after Week 6 if they pass their physicals. Their eligibility to rejoin the roster would end at the conclusion of Week 9.

DL (6) -- Left DEs Vaughn Martin (4th season, round four in 2009, Western Ontario) and Kendall Reyes (round two, 49th overall, Connecticut), NTs Antonio Garay (6th season, round six in 2003, Boston College), Aubrayo Franklin (10th season, round five in 2003, Tennessee) and Cam Thomas (3rd season, round four in 2010, North Carolina) Right DE Corey Liuget (2nd season, round one in 2011, Illinois).

OLB (5) -- Shaun Phillips (9th season, fourth round in 2004, Purdue), Melvin Ingram (round one, 18th overall, South Carolina), Jarret Johnson (10th season, round four in 2003, Alabama), Larry English (4th season, round one in 2009, Northern Illinois) and Antwan Barnes (6th season, round four in 2007, Florida International).

ILB (5) -- Right “MAC” ILBs Takeo Spikes (15th season, round one in 1998, Auburn), Jonas Mouton (2nd season, round two in 2011, Michigan). Left “MO” ILBs Donald Butler (3rd season, round three in 2010, Washington), Demorrio Williams (9th season, round four in 2004, Nebraska) and Andrew Gachkar (2nd season, round seven in 2011, Missouri).

CB (4) -- Left CBs Quentin Jammer (11th season, round one in 2002, Texas) and Marcus Gilchrist (2nd season, round two in 2011, Clemson). Right CBs Antoine Cason (5th season, round one in 2008, Arizona) and Shareece Wright (2nd season, round three in 2011, Southern California). Note: Coach Norv Turner indicated a fifth veteran CB will be signed. That player will likely take WR Vincent Brown’s spot on the roster.

SS (2) -- Atari Bigby (7th season, undrafted in 2005, Central Florida), Brandon Taylor (round three, 73rd overall, LSU).

FS (3) -- Eric Weddle (6th season, round two in 2007, Utah), Corey Lynch (5th season, round six in 2008, Appalachian State) and Darrell Stuckey (3rd season, round four in 2010, Kansas).

Special teams (3) -- K Nate Kaeding (9th season, round three in 2004, Iowa), P Mike Scifres (10th season, round five in 2003, Western Illinois) and LS Mike Windt (3rd season, undrafted in 2010, Cincinnati).

Follow the Chargers and Dan McLellan on Twitter @CBSSportsNFLSD and @sandiegosports.