Getty Images

Novak Djokovic made history as he took down Casper Ruud 7-6 (7-1), 6-3, 6-5 in the 2023 French Open final. He has now reached 23 Grand Slam titles to pass Rafael Nadal for the men's record.

Nadal, who missed the French Open for the first time since 2005, sent "many congrats on this amazing achievement" to Djokovic. 

Djokovic is now the only man in tennis history to win all four Grand Slams at least three times. He is also officially tied with Serena Williams with 23 major titles. The overall record of 24 titles -- men's and women's -- still belongs to Margaret Court.

Carlos Alcaraz entered this year's French Open as the No. 1 seed -- his first time as a No. 1 seed in a Grand Slam tournament. He had recently replaced Djokovic as the No. 1 player in the world, but Djokovic knocked him out in the semi-final round at Roland Garros. That one started off exciting, but Alcaraz started suffering cramps in the third set and struggled to fully get back in the match

Djokovic's latest trophy is taking him back to the No. 1 spot. He has already spent a record 388 weeks atop the rankings throughout his career.

On the women's side, world No. 1 Iga Świątek defended her title after defeating Karolina Muchová 6-2, 5-7, 6-4. This marked her third trophy at Roland Garros and fourth Grand Slam title of her career.

Świątek suffered a leg injury two weeks prior to the tournament during the third set of her quarterfinal match against Elena Rybakina in Rome. However, she took a few days off to recover and booked her ticket to Paris. Last year was a breakout year for Świątek as she won the US Open and the French Open. Before that, her only Grand Slam trophy had been in 2020 at Roland Garros. In 2022, she won 37 matches in a row at the beginning of the season.

Here is everything you need to know about this year's competition at Roland Garros:

How to watch the 2023 French Open

Date: May 28-June 11
Location: Roland Garros, Paris, France
TV: NBC, Tennis Channel | Stream: fuboTV (try for free)

Men's final

No. 3. Novak Djokovic def. No. 4 Casper Ruud 7-6 (7-1), 6-3, 6-5 

Men's semifinals

  • No. 3 Novak Djokovic def. No. 1 Carlos Alcaraz 6-3, 5-7, 6-1, 6-1
  • No. 4 Casper Ruud def. No. 22 Alexander Zverev 6-3, 6-4, 6-0 

Women's final

  • No. 1 Iga Świątek def. Karolina Muchova 6-2, 5-7, 6-4

Women's semifinals

  • Karolina Muchova def. No. 2 Aryna Sabalenka 7-6 (7-5), 6-7 (5-7), 7-5
  • No. 1 Iga Świątek def. No. 14 Beatriz Haddad Maia 6-2, 7-6 (9-7)

Men's seeds

  1. Carlos Alcaraz
  2. Daniil Medvedev
  3. Novak Djokovic
  4. Casper Ruud
  5. Stefanos Tsitsipas
  6. Holger Rune
  7. Andrey Rublev
  8. Jannik Sinner
  9. Taylor Fritz
  10. Felix Auger-Aliassime
  11. Karen Khachanov
  12. Frances Tiafoe
  13. Hubert Hurkacz
  14. Cameron Norrie
  15. Borna Coric
  16. Tommy Paul
  17. Lorenzo Musetti
  18. Alex de Minaur
  19. Roberto Bautista Agut
  20. Daniel Evans
  21. Jan-Lennard Struff
  22. Alexander Zverev
  23. Francisco Cerundolo
  24. Sebastian Korda
  25. Botic van de Zandschulp
  26. Denis Shapovalov
  27. Yoshihito Nishioka
  28. Grigor Dimitrov
  29. Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
  30. Ben Shelton
  31. Miomir Kecmanovic
  32. Bernabe Zapata Miralles

Women's Seeds

  1. Iga Swiatek
  2. Aryna Sabalenka
  3. Jessica Pegula
  4. Elena Rybakina
  5. Caroline Garcia
  6. Coco Gauff
  7. Ons Jabeur
  8. Maria Sakkara
  9. Daria Kasatkina
  10. Petra Kvitova
  11. Veronika Kudermetova
  12. Belinda Bencic
  13. Barbora Krejcikova
  14. Beatriz Haddad Maia
  15. Liudmila Samsonova
  16. Karolina Pliskova
  17. Jelena Ostapenko
  18. Victoria Azarenka
  19. Zheng Qinwen
  20. Madison Keys
  21. Donna Vekic
  22. Magda Linette
  23. Ekaterina Alexandrova
  24. Anastasia Potapova
  25. Angelina Kalinina
  26. Martina Trevisan
  27. Irina-Camelia Begu
  28. Elise Mertens
  29. Paula Badosa
  30. Zhang Shuai
  31. Sorana Cirstea
  32. Marie Bouzkova